Ali Kennett

The EYFS learning and development requirements comprise of seven areas of learning and development and educational programmes. All areas of learning and development are important and inter-connected. Three areas are particularly crucial for igniting children’s curiosity and enthusiasm for learning, and for building their capacity to learn, form relationships and thrive.

These three areas, the prime areas, are:

  1. Communication and Language; Listening and Attention, Understanding and Speaking.
  2. Physical Development; Moving and Handling and Health and Self-Care.
  3. Personal, Social and Emotional Development; Self-Confidence and Self-Awareness, Managing Feelings and Behaviour and Making Relationships.

  4. Providers must also support children in four specific areas, through which the three prime areas are strengthened and applied.
     The four specific areas are:
    1. Literacy; Reading and Writing.
    2. Mathematics; Numbers and Shape, Space and Measures.
    3. Understanding the World; People and Communities, the World and Technology.
    4. Expressive Arts and Design. Exploring and Using Media and Materials and Being Imaginative.

    Educational programmes must involve activities and experiences for children, as follows:

    1. Communication and language development involves giving children opportunities to experience a rich language environment; to develop their confidence and skills in expressing themselves; and to speak and listen in a range of situations.
    2. Physical development involves providing opportunities for young children to be active and interactive; and to develop their co-ordination, control, and movement. Children must also be helped to understand the importance of physical activity, and to make healthy choices in relation to food.
    3. Personal, social and emotional development involves helping children to develop a positive sense of themselves, and others; to form positive relationships and develop respect for others; to develop social skills and learn how to manage their feelings; to understand appropriate behaviour in groups; and to have confidence in their own abilities.
    4. Literacy development involves encouraging children to link sounds and letters and to begin to read and write. Children must be given access to a wide range of reading materials (books, poems, and other written materials) to ignite their interest.
    5. Mathematics involves providing children with opportunities to develop and improve their skills in counting, understanding and using numbers, calculating simple addition and subtraction problems; and to describe shapes, spaces, and measures.
    6. Understanding the world involves guiding children to make sense of their physical world and their community through opportunities to explore, observe and find out about people, places, technology and the environment.
    7. Expressive arts and design involves enabling children to explore and play with a wide range of media and materials, as well as providing opportunities and encouragement for sharing their thoughts, ideas and feelings through a variety of activities in art, music, movement, dance, role-play, and design and technology.